1.7Km 2024-07-09
45 Saemunan-ro, Jongno-gu, Seoul
+82-2-724-0274
Gyeonghuigung Palace, a designated Historic Site, was originally called the large palace by Saemun Gate, or the Western Palace, for its location within the city. It was not until the eighth year of Gwanghaegun (1616) that the palace was used as a royal residence for the king, changing the name to Gyeongdeokgung Palace. The name later changed again to the current Gyeonghuigung Palace in 1760. The palace grounds included many halls but they were mostly all burned down in a fire in 1829. After the Japanese occupation began, all remaining buildings on the site were torn down and the palace grounds were turned into Gyeongseong Middle School (now Seoul High School). The school moved to Gangnam area in 1987, afterwhich the previous location was turned into a park. The palace grounds currently hold Seoul Museum of Art and walking paths, as well as a restoration of Heunghwamun Gate, the main gate of the palace, and Sungjeongjeon Hall, the main hall, completed in November 1994.
1.7Km 2024-12-23
21-10 , Jahamun-ro 11-gil, Jongno-gu, Seoul
+82-10-8561-5227, +82-10-9127-5227
Dongchonjae is a hanok guesthouse in Seochon, Jongno, Seoul. The the Anchae(women's quarters) consists of four sleeping rooms and a cheongmaru lounge space, plus kitchen and toilet. (There are also shared toilets in the yard.) Cooking is not allowed, but guests are welcome to bring in prepared food. A free breakfast is provided. Guests can watch movies in the yard or main hall, and can use the refrigerator and washing machine. A guided night tour of Seoul City Wall is offered, as is a tea ceremony, and rice-cake making experience.
1.7Km 2024-06-19
2-1 Jeongdong-gil, Jung-gu, Seoul
Jeongdong-gil Road is one of Seoul's most famous walking paths, stretching from the intersection in front of Jeongdong Church to Saemunan-gil Road. The street holds importance in Korea's modern history, with the surroundings serving as a living museum of this. During the Joseon dynasty, the area developed into a residental space for distant members of the royal family, with a palace and royal tombs in the area. In 1999, the pedestrian walking area was expanded by turning the two-way road into a one-way road. Since then, the road has earned many awards and honors.